Carte Sénégal

Bordered to the north by Mauritania, to the east by Mali, to the south by Guinea and Guinea Bissau, to the west by Gambia, Senegal is located at the westernmost point of the African continent with a 500 km coastline in the Atlantic Ocean. It has an area of 196 722 km2. Located at the confluence of Europe, Africa and the Americas, it is a crossroads of major maritime and air routes.

Dakar, the capital and the regions

Dakar, its capital is a peninsula which extends over 550 km2. It is located in the far west. Senegal is consisted of fourteen regions: Dakar, Diourbel, Fatick, Kaffrine, Kédougou, Kaolack, Kolda, Louga, Matam, Saint Louis, Sédhiou, Tambacounda, Thiès, Ziguinchor.

Climate and usual languages

With a dry tropical climate, Senegal is characterized by two seasons: a dry season from November to June and a rainy season from July to October. There are three types of vegetation: forest in the south, savannah in the centre and steppe in the north.

The official language of the Republic of Senegal is French. The national languages are

Senegal, a model of integration

Recognized as one of the most stable countries in Africa, one of the few that has never experienced a coup d'état, Senegal is a democratic model often mentioned as an example.

Senegal is a member of several organizations including the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU), the African Union (AU), the Community of Sahelo-Saharan States (CES), the International Organization of la Francophonie, as well as of other bodies of the international community.